23 July 2024


TEPARG was founded in 2003 when Bernard Moxham, the then President of the European Federation for Experimental Morphology (EFEM), was considering the establishment of a number of European-wide groups to further research in the anatomical sciences.

At this time, Bernard had become increasingly concerned about the future direction of anatomy and, seeing the way in which the discipline was losing influence and esteem in various scientific arenas, he aimed to enhance international opinion in order to counter such trends. He was particularly concerned that changes to the teaching of the anatomical sciences were not evidence-based. Consequently, TEPARG was established with the intention of rectifying this situation.

Invitations to join the group were sent to academics who where known for conducting good pedagogic research and to those who were enthusiastic about teaching anatomy. Odile Plaisant agreed to organise and host the first face-to-face meeting of TEPARG in Paris and meetings continued very successfully each March until 2020, when it was agreed that Barcelona would take on the responsibility. In 2021, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was conducted remotely via videoconference.

The group has published articles on legal aspects of body donation in Europe, and on the attitudes of students with respect to the importance of the anatomical sciences. TEPARG has organised symposia and sessions at international conferences and, with the International Federation of Associations of Anatomy (IFAA), has participated in the development of core anatomical syllabuses. The TEPARG meeting in March 2021 was concerned with the effects of COVID-19 on the teaching of anatomy.

The Past-Presidents of TEPARG have been: Bernard Moxham (UK), Stephen McHanwell (UK) and Odile Plaisant (France). A new President, Isabel Stabile (Malta), was inaugurated in March 2021.